Assault in Michigan
Assault is a felony punishable by up to 4 years in prison. If the assault is committed with the intent to do great bodily harm less than murder, it is a 10-year felony. If the assault is committed by strangulation, it is a 15-year felony. Assault with the intent to rob and assault with the intent to commit great bodily harm are both 20-year felonies. The maximum fine for assault is $500. An assault conviction will also result in a suspended driver’s license for 6 months to 2 years.
An experienced attorney can make all the difference in an assault case. Michigan has very harsh penalties for assault, and a conviction will have a lasting impact on your life. Mariell Lehman has over 12 years of experience defending people charged with assault. She has a proven track record of success, and she will work tirelessly to protect your rights and freedom. Contact Mariell today for a free consultation.